Home » News » Poldark : A British historical drama television series a brief background and cast !

Poldark : A British historical drama television series a brief background and cast !

Poldark is a British historical drama television series based on the novel of the same name by Winston Graham. Debbie Horsfield wrote and adopted the series for the BBC and directed by several directors through its run. The series is set between 1781 and 1801. The story follows the titular character on his return to Cornwall after the American War of Independence in 1783. The series ended with 5 seasons. Season 1 released in 2015, season 2 in 2016, season 3 in 2017, season 4 in 2018, and season 5 in 2019.

Poldark production –

The shooting of the series began in Cornwall and Bristol in April 2014. The Bottle Yard Studios in Bristol, England is the production base for each series. The set for Poldark’s home and The Red Lion pub has been built. The shooting location includes the north Cornwall coast at St.Agnes Head and the Botallack Mine near St.

Just in Penwith. The beach of Church Cove Gunwalloe on the Lizard Peninsula was the location for the shipwreck scene. Corsham in Wiltshire and in Frome, Somerset town scenes were shot. Poldark Mine in Cornwall the underground scenes were shot. “Prior Park College” in Bath Somerset some interior scenes were shot.

The main casts of Poldark –

  • Aidan Turner as Captain Ross Vennor Poldark
  • Eleanor May Tomlinson as Demelza Poldark
  • Ruby Bentall as Verity Blamey
  • Caroline Georgiana Blakiston as Agatha Poldark
  • Philip Davis as Jud Paynter
  • Beatrice Edney as Prudie Paynter
  • Jack Farthing as George Warleggan
  • Luke Norris as Dr. Dwight Enys
  • Heida Reed as Elizabeth Warleggan
  • Kyle Soller as Francis Poldark
  • Philip Dean Torrens as Cary Warleggan
  • Warren Clarke as Charles Poldark
  • Gabriella Wilde as Caroline Enys
  • John Vivian Drummond Nettles as Ray Penvenen
  • Christian Brassington as Reverend Osborne
  • Ellise Chappell as Morwenna Carne
  • Sean Brian Gilder as Tholly Tregirls
  • Harry Richardson as Drake Carne
  • Josh Whitehouse as Lieutenant Hugh Armitage
  • Tom York as Sam Carne
  • Tim Dutton as Joseph Merceron
  • Kerri McLean as Catherine
  • Vincent Regan as Colonel Edward
  • Peter Sullivan as Ralph Hanson
  • Tristan Sturrock as Captain Zacky Martin


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.